The British Society for Rheumatology

Garrod Prize

The prestigious Garrod Prize is open to scientists with a non-clinical background currently working in rheumatology or a related discipline. BSR would normally expect candidates to be within 15 years of graduation.

Named after Sir Alfred Baring Garrod, who was responsible for recognising the difference between osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis and for initiating the thread test for uric acid in the blood. This prize replaced the Non-Clinical Bursary.

There is one Garrod prize available each year.

Congratulations to our 2017 winner Dr Helen Wright, University of Liverpool.

Click here to view past Garrod Prize winners

The winner will receive

£500 cheque

The Garrod Trophy

Complimentary registration to Rheumatology 2017

The opportunity to present their work during the plenary session at Rheumatology 2017

The winner’s work will be considered for publication in the BSR journal Rheumatology

Rules and eligibility

    -- Open to applicants with less than 10 years’ experience in research activities
      -- Applicants  must be a BSR or BHPR member to apply


            How to apply

             Applications for 2017 have now passed.

             Please contact Marina Serrano for any further information.