Regional Advisory Council

The Regional Advisory Council (known as Council) is responsible for local activity and support for BSR members within a defined geographical area of the United Kingdom. The Regional and Devolved Nation Chairs are members of the BSR Council and will organise and chair regional meetings. This is a key conduit by which information flows from the BSR central office to members, and from members to central office.

BSR Council: Terms of Reference

The Council and Officers

Executive Committee members also attend council meetings; the council is chaired by the President, Dr P Lanyon.

Elected Council members

  • - Zoe McLaren (Deputy Chair)
  • - Rajan Madhok (representing Scotland)
  • - Catherine Laversuch (representing South West)
  • - Shahir Hamdulay (representing London North West)
  • Annie Cooper (representing South Central)
  • - Daniel Fishman (representing East of England)
  • - Rikki Abernethy (representing Mersey)
  • - Rachel Jeffrey (representing East Midlands)
  • - Adrian Pendleton (representing Northern Ireland)
  • - Dipak Roy(representing North West)
  • - Vijay Hajela (representing South East)
  • - Patrick Gordon (representing London South)
  • - Michael Plant(representing North East)
  • - Zunaid Karim (representing Yorkshire and Humber)
  • - Michael Ehrenstein (representing London Central and North East)
  • Caitlyn Dowson (representing West Midlands)
  • - Rhian Goodfellow (representing Wales)

Other Council members and co-opted representatives from and to other committees and organisations

  • - Honorary Heberden Librarian: Richard Watts 
  • - Speciality Advisory Committee (SAC): Jo Ledingham 
  • - Non-clinical Scientist: Vacant (find out more)
  • - European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS): Kaushik Chaudhuri
  • - British Rheumatologists in Training (BRiTs): Adam Croft (Chair)

Committee papers and minutes

Committee meeting papers and approved minutes to follow. Please contact Michelle Bissoo, Governance and Business Manager, for copies in the interim.

Click below for dates of all the BSR / BHPR committee meetings for 2017. If you have any queries please contact

Committee Meeting Dates 2017