External Strategy and Engagement Committee

The ESEC is responsible for promoting understanding of rheumatic and  musculoskeletal disorders and the role of the society within the external community, acting as the driving focus for campaigns that raise the public, MP and primary care awareness of the importance of early diagnosis and treatment.

  External Strategy and Policy Committee: Terms of Reference

Committee members

  • Chair: Dr Gavin Clunie
  • Vice Chair: Dr Ciaran Dunn
  • Regional Chair (South Central): Dr Annie Cooper
  • Devolved Nation Chair (Northern Ireland): Dr Adrian Pendleton
  • Devolved Nation Chair (Wales): Dr Zoe McLaren
  • Member: Dr Tazeen Ahmed
  • Member: Vacant
  • Member: Dr Arvind Sinha
  • Member: Dr Ira Pande
  • Member: Dr Ruth Richmond
  • Member: Dr Henry Penn

Co-opted representatives

  • BRITS: Dr Geetha Janakiraman, Rheumatology Trainee 
  • BHPR Representative: Caroline Spicka, Occupational Therapist
  • BSPAR: Dr Nick Wilkinson, Consultant Paediatric Rheumatologist 
  • PCRS: Vacant
  • BSR President : Dr Peter Lanyon
  • BHPR President: Dr Jill Firth


Committee papers and minutes

Committee meeting papers and approved minutes to follow. Please contact Caroline Kennedy, Committee Manager, for copies in the interim.

If you have any queries please contact bsr@rheumatology.org.uk.