Wales is made up of seven local Health Boards. The main Hospitals delivering rheumatology services for each Health Board are listed below. In addition, services are delivered at a number of community hospitals and clinics throughout Wales.

  • Abertawe Bro Morgannwyg University Health Board: Hospitals: - Singleton, Morriston, Neath Port Talbot and Princess of Wales.
  • Aneurin Bevan University Health Board: Hospitals: - Royal Gwent, Nevill Hall, Ystrad Fawr, St. Woolos, Monmouth, Chepstow, County, Brecon War Memorial and Aneurin Bevan.
  • Betsicadawaldr University Health Board: Hospitals: - Wrexham Maelor, Glan Clwyd and The Peter Maddison Rheumatology Centre (Llandudno / Bangor), Deeside Community Hospital, Dolgellau Hospital, Ysbyty Bryn Beryl, Ysbyty Alltwen, Ysbyty Eryri, Ysbyti Penrhos Stanley, Blaenau Ffestiniog Health
  • Cardiff and Vale University Health Board: Hospitals: - University Hospital of Wales, University Hospital Llandough and Cardiff Royal infirmary
  • Cwm Taf University Health Board:
    Hospitals: - Royal Glamorgan, Dewi Sant and Prince Charles.
  • Hywel Dda University Health Board:
    Hospitals: - Bronglais, West Wales General, Prince Philip and Withybush

Teaching and training 

Regional Chair: Dr Zoe McLaren
Contact email:

STC Chair: Dr Sharon Jones
Contact email:

TPD: Dr Shaun Smale
Contact email:

Academic meetings: North and South Wales have a regular teaching programme with teleconference links. We have external speakers contributing to the teaching programmes.

Bi-Annual all Wales meeting alternating between North and South Wales.  At these meetings, we discuss issues relating to teaching, training, research and service delivery. An all-Wales audit is presented and reports given by the Chair of the BSR and RCP meetings.

Postgraduate training:  The Wales deanery coordinates postgraduate training for the 9 StRs and one academic StR in Wales, as well as a number of core medical training and foundation posts in Rheumatology. StR training includes monthly supra-regional training days co-hosted with Severn deanery, regular regional updates and access to a variety of sub-speciality training opportunities. There are excellent links between the North Wales Rheumatology units and Manchester & Merseyside

Internal Medicine: All new appointments will dual accredit in Rheumatology and GIM

Special clinics and Special Interest Group (SIG)

An annual Scleroderma clinic with Professor CP Denton

All Wales Ultrasound group: Aims to deliver standardised rheumatology ultrasound training across Wales and works in close collaboration with the BSR ultrasound SIG and Scottish Rheumatology Ultrasound Group (SRUG). There are currently 5 sites (3 in South and 2 in North) recognised for Ultrasound training.

Chair: Dr Emyr Humphreys, Secretary: Dr Vun Lim, Research Advisor: Prof. Ernest Choy.


There is an active research programme in Wales. Professor Ernest Choy is Head of Rheumatology and translational Research in Cardiff and Director of the Cardiff Regional Experimental Arthritis Treatment and Evaluation Centre at Cardiff University School of Medicine. There are clinical trials at all major centres in Wales.

Welsh Arthritis Research Network (WARN) was established by the National Institute for Social Care and Health Research and the Welsh Government. WARN’s mission is to raise the profile of arthritis and musculoskeletal research and improve care for patients with arthritis in Wales.

The Peter Maddison Rheumatology Centre (PMRC) together with Bangor School of Sports Health and Exercise Sciences (SSHES) have an active research portfolio in following areas: effect of inflammation on muscle mass & function, prevalence of cardiovascular disease and the role of exercise in inflammatory arthritis conditions.