The British Society for Rheumatology

Michael Mason Prize

The esteemed Michael Mason Prize is awarded by the Heberden Committee for excellence in clinical or scientific research in the field of rheumatology.

There is one Michael Mason Prize available each year.


Congratulations to our 2017 winner Dr Francesca Barone, University of Birmingham.

Click here to view past Michael Mason Prize winners

Click here to view a short biography of Dr Michael Mason

The winner will receive

£1,000 prize cheque

The Michael Mason trophy

Complimentary registration to Rheumatology 2017

The opportunity to present their work during the plenary session at Rheumatology 2017

The winner’s work will be considered for publication in the BSR journal Rheumatology

Rules and eligibility

    -- Open to medical and non-medical candidates who are members of BSR
      -- Applicants are expected to be at a relatively early stage of their research career
        -- Applicants must be a BSR or BHPR member to apply

          How to apply

              Applications for 2017 have passed. 


              Please contact Marina Serrano for any further information.