06 November 2023

A huge congratulations to all those shortlisted for our 2024 Best Practice Awards!

These awards celebrate excellence and showcase exemplary rheumatology services by promoting innovation and best practice across every aspect of rheumatology treatment.

The shortlist selected by our panel of judges is outlined below:

  • Bridging the gap between primary and secondary care through the Rheumatology Academy and Collaborative Network (RheumACaN), Department of Rheumatology Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation

    Our judges said: 
    "Good to see this work emerging with all the pressure on primary care. A great example of cross-system improvement work."

  • Preventing avoidable admissions due to gout, King's College Hospital NHS Foundation

    Our judges said:
    "This is an excellent example of best practice and clearly can be implemented at other sites - this is very encouraging for national adoption."

  • Pharmacist-designed Best Value Biologic and Targeted Synthetic DMARD Shared Decision-Making Web Tool to empower patients, support clinicians, and save money, Southmead Hospital North Bristol NHS Trust

    Our judges said:
    "An important aspect of care within a high-cost area of care. Truly innovative."

  • The haemophagocytic lymphohistiocytosis (HLH) network - improving care for all patients with HLH, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust & University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

    Our judges said:
    "Really exciting results. Implementation is multi-faceted and a huge credit to those involved."

  • A new model of personalised care for people with fibromyalgia in primary care with secondary care multidisciplinary support, North West London Integrated Care System and Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

    Our judges said:
    "Methodical, great patient involvement, and brilliant stakeholder engagement."

These sites are now preparing to present their work to a panel including a guest BSR member and health economist Costello. Costello will prepare an in-depth report reviewed by both the clinical judging panel and the patient panel before selecting the final winners.

Find out more about the awards